041: Rosalind James was a quiet child

Rosalind James on The Show People Podcast With Andrew Keates

Andrew is joined by Rosalind James just before she performs a showcase of her new musical Stigma – a piece about HIV/AIDS. In one of the most emotional episodes we’ve ever produced, Rosalind discusses some very difficult times in her life as well as her experiences training at Sylvia Young Theatre School and performing in shows such as Les Miserables (where she was the first black Eponine), Hair, Ragtime, Little Shop Of Horrors and more. Rosalind split one of her vocal chord whilst working on a show; an event she found totally disabling, both mentally and physically and she opens up about her fight to regain her reputation and quash the industry’s misconceptions about her.

Trigger Warning: this episode includes discussions about abuse, mental health struggles, suicide and abortion. If you find yourself becoming upset during the episode, please contact the organisation or person you rely upon for support.

Act Hacks

Andrew gives some great tips to save money this Christmas.

The Platform:

We hear a song written and performed by Rosalind from her new musical Stigma. 

Connect with us:

Twitter: Andrew Keates: @AndrewKeates, The Show People Podcast: @ShowPeopleUK, Arion Productions: @ArionProds, Rosalind James: @RJsongbird, Stigma: @StopTheStigmaShow and use #ShowPeoplePodcast.
Facebook: Please like our Facebook page where you can also join the Show People Listeners’ forum at www.facebook.com/showpeoplepodcast.
Instagram: Follow The Show People Podcast: @showpeoplepodcast, Andrew Keates: @mrandrewkeates, Rosalind James: @rosalindjames7

E-mail: info@arion-productions.com

Links:

Stigma Booking Link: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/stop-the-stigma-show-tickets-82163656709?aff=efbeventtix
How To Access NHS Mental Health Services: https://www.nhs.uk/using-the-nhs/nhs-services/mental-health-services/how-to-access-mental-health-services/
MIND Mental Health Charity: https://www.mind.org.uk
NHS Domestic Violence and Abuse Services: https://www.nhs.uk/live-well/healthy-body/getting-help-for-domestic-violence/
Camel Camel Camel: https://uk.camelcamelcamel.com
Price Spy: https://pricespy.co.uk
Show People Photography by Scott Rylander: www.scottrylander.com
Andrew Keates’ Website: www.andrewkeates.co.uk
Arion Productions: www.arion-productions.com 

Support:

All profits from the Show People Podcast go toward supporting Arion Productions Ltd to create opportunities and resources for theatre-makers. If you enjoy the podcast and can support this independent theatre company, please make a donation by visiting www.arion-productions.com/donate or via our GoFundMe campaign at www.gofundme.com/support-arion-productions.

Shop:

Head over to our Show People Podcast shop to purchase your very own Show People Podcast merchandise, including mugs and pens. All profits go toward Arion Productions Ltd and covering the costs of the Show People Podcast http://www.arion-productions.com/shop

Sponsor:

Would you like to sponsor the Show People Podcast and advertise on the show? Please get in touch by e-mailing info@arion-productions.com

Thank you, Subscribe and Review:

Please hit subscribe and don’t forget to leave us a review on iTunes or whichever platform you listen to us on. Thank you for listening!